The office of deacon was introduced in the very first church at Jerusalem, to serve in the running of the church.

Deacons are the managing trustees, and look to the best interests of the Church by supporting good accountability and structures within the fellowship. They act on behalf of the Church in between Church meetings, and are accountable to the Church meeting.

Deacons are Church members who are recognised as having good character, mature faith, a servant heart, being worthy of respect, good at encouraging and building relationships, and having wisdom and discernment.  We have up to 12; they are elected for a term of 3 years (2 consecutive terms can be served), and they have a variety of responsibilities including: serving at Holy Communion, supporting the ministry team, leading in making decisions regarding the use of the building, supervising the various duty rotas, and serving with competence on one of our subcommittees: Staffing, Finance, Property/Fabric, Health & Safety, Publicity, Ministry and WorshipDeacs 18

The Officers of the Church are the Senior minister, alongside the Secretary, Assistant Secretary and Treasurer, who are deacons.

The  deacons for 2018, with their areas of responsibility, are – pictured from left to right: Dave Timms (Staffing), Carol Moore (Secretary, Health & Safety, Ministry & Staffing), James Martin (Property Advisory Group), Frances Alwood (Finance & Publicity), Nigel Bonson (Staffing), Graham Kitts (Health & Safety), Helen Woolley (Assistant Secretary, Property Advisory Group), Bev Caton (Property Advisory Group), Isobel Dexter (Publicity), and Andrew Atkin (Treasurer).

We welcome New Deacons for 2019: Louise Finn, Peter Harrison, Dative Mukamusoni and Yvonne Timms.